Endeavors

I got an idea for a painting today; a woman from chin to hips, her chest open so her heart and part of her lungs are visible. I was thinking of painting it for a friend of mine, Ryan “DJ Gon” Bowman, for his newest musical endeavor. 

I hate to move on to something else feeling like my previous project, the self portrait, is unfinished, but this painting is calling me. I have a problem with starting things and not finishing them, but at the same time I have a problem with overworking certain pieces. I’m worried that if I leave the self portrait as-is I will move on feeling like it isn’t fully complete, but I’m also afraid if I try to perfect the portrait it will end up getting over worked. 

I think the best thing for me to do is move forward with the other piece and try to force myself not to completely give up on the portrait like I usually do. Although, after all this, I really feel like working on the self portrait. 

Talking/thinking in circles certainly won’t help anything get done, so off I am to do something. I’m not quite sure what yet, but I’ve got to get out of this “what if” zone and make something happen.

Leave a Reply

